South Dakota Horse Council home page.
South Dakota Horse Council News!
South Dakota Horse Council


The Annual meeting of the South Dakota Horse Council was held April 23 in the Walstrom Room of the Animal Science Building on the SDSU Campus. Mike Olson and Brandon Kinney reported on the driving clinic held at SDSU on April 16. The Scholarships to be awarded in 2016-17 will be $350 each, one in the Athletics Equestrian program and one to an Animal Science student. The 2015-16 recipients were Sidney Bierman, Aberdeen, sophomore Animal Science Student; and Sarah Bowen, Hastings, NE a senior biology major.

Two youth donations were reported - $250 to the State 4-H Horse Show and $250 to the Little International Show at SDSU.

The 2016 Horseperson of the Year was announced as Larry Larson, Rapid City, SD. Learn more about Larry.

The South Dakota Horse Council was formed as a non-profit corporation to serve as the spokesman for the SD horse industry and to work with the American Horse Council to represent the horse industry in Washington before Congress and the Federal regulatory agencies. American Horse Council represents all segments of the equine industry.

South Dakota Horse Council is a member
of the

The South Dakota Horse Council, Inc. is organized strictly as a non-profit corporation without pecuniary gain or benefit to its members or to any private individual and:
  • Organized to further the common interests of the horsepersons of South Dakota
  • To serve as means of communication within the industry where unity and strength are needed.
  • To monitor legislation and administrative decisions which would have an impact on horses or horsepersons.
  • To promote interest in horse related activities.
President: Gene Carr, Box 25, Hayti, SD, 605-783-3832
Vice President: Doug Nickel, Canistota, SD, 605-370-1607
Secretary: Jo Waldner, 1805 Edgebrook Circle, Brookings, SD
Treasure: Walter Schafer, Winfred, SD
Directors elected to serve through 2019:

Jessica Carr
Brandon Kinney
Machelle Bonde
Joe Rowe

Directors elected to serve through 2018:
Doug Nickel
Walt Schaefer
Mike Olson
Robin Mathison

Directors elected to serve through 2017:
Gene Carr
Jo Waldner
Janice Cronin
Richard Waldner

Directors elected to serve through 2016:
Jessica Carr
Brandon Kinney
Machelle Bonde
Carly Wettlaufer

SDHC Membership Form - Dues Individual and Club
Outstanding Member Award Nomination Form
Horse Person of the Year Nomination Form
Order form to buy Equine Sign - coming soon

March 2012
June 2010
January 2010
May 2009

Other Information

Honorees - Present and Past
SDHC By-Laws

Meeting Minutes
July 2013
April 2012
April 2011
April 2010
May 2009

Trailblazer Web Designer.
Trailblazer Web Design, LLC